Trophy History 1908-2014

Manchester United are the most successful team in English football, winning the most domestic trophies but do you know when they won their first major trophy and how many times they have won each trophy.

The first success for United was the League Championship in 1908, this came six years the club had changed its name from Newton Heath to Manchester United and was followed by the club’s first Charity Shield success with victory over QPR. 1909 saw United winning their first Fa Cup with a 1-0 victory over Bristol City.

A second league title followed in 1911 and once again United won the Charity Shield at the start of the following season. This would be the last success Manchester United tasted until the late 1940’s. The club struggled with finances and it wasn’t until Sir Matt Busby arrived at the club that they became a force in English football.

United’s long wait for a trophy was finally ended when they won the Fa Cup in 1948, beating Blackpool 4-2. The 1950’s then saw United winning the Championship again in 1952 after finishing runners-up in 1947, 1948, 1949 and 1951. The 1950’s saw United winning the Championship three times and the Charity Shield on three occasions. Manchester United looked set to be the European Champions in 1958, until the Munich Air Disaster wiped out a whole generation of footballers, club staff and journalists.

The club recovered in the 1960’s, winning the Fa Cup in 1963 as United beat Leicester City 3-1. United had to wait until 1965 to win the League championship again before once again winning it in 1967. Once again winning the Charity Shield at the start of the following season on both occasions.

The Reds finally achieved their Holy Grail of the European Cup in 1968, beating Benfica 4-1 after extra-time at Wembley, the goals coming from Sir Bobby Charlton (2), George Best and Brian Kidd. The win saw United becoming the first English side to the competition. Fitting given that they were the first English side to play in the competition.

That success would be the last for United until 1977, winning the Fa Cup, beating Liverpool 2-1. The 1980’s would see two more Fa Cup wins in 1983 and 1985 under Ron Atkinson. Sir Alex Ferguson took over at Old Trafford in 1986 but wouldn’t taste success until the 1990 Fa Cup win, beating Crystal Palace 1-0 in a replay after the first game ended 3-3.

The Reds won the League Cup for the first time in their history in 1992, beating Nottingham Forest 1-0. Then the following season the club’s wait for a League Championship was finally over. As United clinched the inaugural Premier League to end the 26-year wait. United did the double of League Championship and Fa Cup for the first time in their history in 1994 and repeated this in 1996.

Manchester United again won the title in 1997 before the season anyone who saw it will never forget. As United completed the unthinkable treble of Premier League, Fa Cup and European Cup in 1999. Winning the European Cup win two goals in the dying stages of game to beat Bayern Munich 2-1.

United picked up three more Premier League titles in 2000, 2001 and 2003. They would have to wait four years for another league title but did win the Fa Cup in 2004 and the League Cup in 2006. 2007 saw the start of three league titles in three years. In 2008 they also won the European cup, beating Chelsea on penalties in the first all English European Cup final, they followed that up with the FIFA World Club Cup. In 2009 as well as the league title, United also won the Fa Cup.

United made it back-to-back League Cup wins in 2010, having equalled Liverpool’s record of 18 league titles in 2009, they set a new record in 2011 and in Sir Alex Ferguson’s last season. United won their 20th league title in 2013. United will be hoping that Louis Van Gaal can add the club’s trophy haul in the next few seasons. Man Utd Football Trophie History Original Man Utd football trophy timeline created by Aford Awards a UK manufacturer of football trophies.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply