FA Youth Cup Tradition

Fa Youth Cup

Manchester United face Hull City in the Fa Youth Cup 4th round at Old Trafford tonight, Manchester United are most successful team in the competition having won it on ten occasions and it was the competition where the Busby Babes first rose to prominence as the club won the trophy for the first five seasons after its inception in 1952. As well as winning the trophy on ten occasions, United have also reached the final on 4 other occasions.

The Fa Youth Cup is a competition for under-18 sides, players have to be between the age of 15 and 18 on 31st August of the current season. So for this seasons competition they would have to between the ages of 15 and 18 on 31st August 2014. The competition is dominated by youth sides of professional teams, mostly Premier League teams will be fighting it out in the latter stages of the competition but it attracts 400 entrants from throughout the country.

As well as winning the trophy in the first five seasons between 1953 and 1957, United have also lifted the in 1964, 1992, 1995, 2003 and 2011. Their Youth cup winning sides have featured players that would later become household names, not just for Manchester United but also for their countries. The United side that triumph in the competition in the first five years featured Duncan Edwards and Bobby Charlton. Duncan Edwards and Bobby Charlton both featured in three of the wins, Edwards in 1953, 1954 and 1955 and Charlton was also part of the 1954 and 1955 winning teams with Edwards as well as winning it in 1956.

Edwards and Charlton with their 1954 Fa Youth Cup winning team-mates
Edwards and Charlton with their 1954 Fa Youth Cup winning team-mates

Manchester United then had to wait until 1964 to win the trophy again and part of that team was George Best, Best scored 6 goals in 26 appearances for United’s first team in the 1963/64 but despite being part of the first team he still played in the winning Youth Cup side of 1964. The 1964 team also featured David Sadler who along with Best and Charlton would go on to win the European Cup with United in 1968. United then had to wait until the famous Class of 92 won the competition in 1992, though they did reach the final in 1982 and 1986. The team that reached the final in 1982 featured Mark Hughes and Norman Whiteside. The 1986 team featured Gary Walsh and Lee Martin who would both go onto to have decent careers with Manchester United, Lee Martin scored the winning in the 1990 Fa Cup Final replay.

We come to the 1992 final where United beat Crystal Palace 6-3 over the two games, of the six famous class of 92 graduates, 4 of them featured in the final, they were Gary Neville, Ryan Giggs, David Beckham and Nicky Butt. Giggs was already playing in the first team by this time and only featured in the 2nd leg at Old Trafford. As United reached the final the following year, the team featured Gary Neville, David Beckham and Nicky Butt again and also Paul Scholes and Phil Neville. Manchester United again reached the in the 1995 and Phil Neville was once again on the losing side.

The most recent triumph for Manchester United came in 2011 as they beat Sheffield United 6-3 on aggregate, so far none of this team has gone on to star for United’s first team, though the team did feature Jesse Lingard and Tyler Blackett who have featured in the first team this season. Paul Pogba was also part of this winning team and he decided to leave United for Juventus because he didn’t feel he would get the opportunities in the United first team. The shining star of this team was seen to be Ravel Morrison but he encountered a lot of trouble off the pitch and eventually left the club for West Ham United, where he has also struggled to make a lasting impact.

The 2011 winners celebrating
The 2011 winners celebrating
About Andrew Hyslop 398 Articles

Creator of Sir Alex Ferguson Way and writer of football books https://www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B01M1RVX27

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply