Martial Named Europe’s Golden Boy

Golden Boy

By Andy Hyslop

  • Anthony Martial named 2015 Golden Boy
  • The Golden Boy award is for Europe’s best young player

Manchester United and France striker Anthony Martial has been named as the winner of 2015 Golden Boy award. He beat off competition from many outstanding talents around Europe to win the award.

The award was established by Italian newspaper Tuttosport in 2003 and reserved for players under the age of 21. Journalists from 30 mayor across the continent vote for their winner.

Tuttosport revealed a 40-man shortlist for the award in November. That list included a number of players from the Premier League, including Martial’s team-mate at Old Trafford Luke Shaw.

Other Premier League players on the list were Hector Bellerin (Arsenal), Jordan Ibe (Liverpool), Dele Alli (Tottenham and Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea).

Whilst some of the other nominees from across the continent were Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich), Max Meyer (Schalke) and Sandro Ramirez (Barcelona).

2015 has seen Martial help Monaco to a third place finish in Ligue One, earn his first call-up to the French national side, making his debut against Portugal on September 4.

That debut came only days after completing his record-breaking move to Old Trafford. He made an immediate impact for United scoring with minutes of coming on as a substitute against Liverpool. He has six goals in 19 appearances for United so far.

The first winner of the award in 2003 was Rafael Van Der Vaart. Other notable winners of the award are Lionel Messi, Cesc Fabregas, Sergio Aguero and Paul Pogba.

Martial becomes the third Manchester United player to win the award after Wayne Rooney (2004) and Anderson (2008).

About Andrew Hyslop 398 Articles

Creator of Sir Alex Ferguson Way and writer of football books

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply